Tags

, , , ,

This is a stunningly illustrated board book newly arrived in the bookshop that both echoes and rivals Eric Carle’s pictures (yes, a big claim but I am sticking to it).

51aca8PKRNLIn fact I love it so much and feel you all need to see it, so I’m going to post most of the pages. On a Friday evening too!

Some butterflies, so the story goes, are blue like the sea…

DSC_1737…yellow like the sun…

DSC_1738

…red as a strawberry..

DSC_1739

and even grey and black.

DSC_1740DSC_1741

But this butterfly is white.

DSC_1743

Until a drop of water lands on a wing. Then see what happens!

DSC_1744 DSC_1745 DSC_1747 DSC_1749How gorgeous is this? It reminded me of Leo Lionni’s A Colour of His Own, my all time favourite picture book in the whole wide world and beyond. And I suppose because of this, I did find myself wishing that this book could have had a more emotional edge to it – or more character development, as you have with The Very Hungry Caterpillar. If it had, I think this could have become a modern classic. The butterfly in this is neutral – which I suppose is apt given the premise of the story. But while it perhaps lacks slightly in story, it is stunning. And many a toddler would be transfixed by it.

Do go and check it out.

