Tags

, , , , ,

Another twist on a fairy tale classic, this is both a pop-up book and focuses on colours.

61XA9IieQULFor each scene there is a focus on a particular colour:

Once there was a little girl called Goldilocks who had long YELLOW hair.

And look how super yellow the scene is!

DSC_0631DSC_0632 The bears are of course brown. Until they see what goldilocks has done. And then they turn red with rage and roar.

I like this connection of colour with emotion. It is good for children to explore emotions in a safe environment and I think this is a great starting point for a discussion about anger.

Original literary fairy tales (and by that I mean Perrault and Grimm) are often nearly devoid of colour. Of course you get red, black and white. Sometimes blue. Occasionally a mention of gold. But that’s pretty much it. So I really applaud this technicolour approach. And I also appreciate the truncated text. Fairy tales can be simply told and longer versions can often be lovely. But this is a back to basics treatment and allows the reader to play with the pop-up elements and enjoy the colours (apologies for the poor quality photo):

DSC_0635

I do like a different approach to a fairy tale, and this definitely works for me.

John’s own site is here too: http://www.n4sketchpad.wordpress.com

