Tags

, , ,

This wasn’t the book I’d intended to write about today, nor is it fiction, but I was in the bookshop today and it has just come in and IT IS ABOUT BANANAMAN!!!!!

61oedz1A4AL

I have no idea if anyone outside the UK will know about Bananaman, but it was a fantastically silly comic strip that got turned into cartoon when I was little (the 1980’s). This is how it opens:

‘This is 29 Acacia Road. And this is Eric, the schoolboy who leads an exciting double life. For when Eric eats a banana, an amazing transformation occurs. Eric is Bananaman. Ever alert for the call to action!’

Bananaman may look the part of a superhero, but unfortunately that’s all you can say about him – he is blessed with biceps, not brains. He has to fight against General Blight and look all handsome for Fiona the newsreader.

Funnily enough I’d shown Toby and Jess some clips of Bananaman on YouTube the other day (along with Super Ted and The Raggy Dolls) as part of the Essential Imparting of Knowledge I do as a parent.

This activity book kept them quiet after school today and they enjoyed doing all the activities as a team. I enjoyed looking at it (whilst carefully supervising you understand), wading my way through some nostalgia.

I have found out today that there might be a film of Bananaman in the offing. I am trying to remain calm about it. But my goodness, fellow Bananaman Fans, wouldn’t that just be amazing?

