Tags

, , , , , ,

It is nearly Christmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And there are lots of lovely Christmas books out there.

This is newly out and I think it is wonderful – I would have loved this as a child.

91SEemBzJVL

The text is the carol, The Twelve Days of Christmas, which not all children know – my daughter Jess didn’t but after a few readings (with me singing along in probably a very annoying way) she can recite it perfectly. A good life skill I think.

The pictures are gorgeous, like a Medieval Book of Hours. Incredibly detailed, you can’t help but stare at each spread for ages. When everything becomes too much on Christmas Day – when the adults are fractious with each other, watching boring TV or snoozing on the sofa – this would be the book I’d like to bury my nose into and forget about them all.

Jess especially loved the romance of it and seeing the couple at the end. Toby thought it was highly impractical to get so many gifts. ‘What will he do on Valentine’s Day?’ he said. ‘Where can he go from there?’ Wise words from an 8 year old I thought.

